On the other side!

It’s been a few days since I last posted on my blog, and for good reason.  Thursday, 11th December 2014 I finally had the surgery I had been waiting so long for.  Finally I have the body to match the mind.  I can not express how I feel in words at the moment, but they would all equate to the same thing.  I am so happy, I could cry!

It all started early morning on the Thursday, with my dear friend Stewart taking me to hospital for 7am.  We arrived in plenty of time, and after Eric made sure I was settled in, they departed.  Before anything happened, I met with Mr Fenton again to confirm what he was doing, and for me to sign the consent form (like I would have refused to do that), followed by the Anaesthetist to explain what they would be doing from his point of view.

10:30 comes, and I’m sitting in my room in the ‘fashionable’ hospital gown, and one of the nurses comes to fetch me.  This is the first time I have walked to theatre, which is located on the ward.  I’m lain down on the bed there, and then the first problem rises.  I have problem veins!  Whenever I have blood tests, whomever does them has problems in locating a good vein.  This time was no different.  After 4 attempts to set a cannula up in my arm, he finally sites it.

Then the fun part.  In order to help with pain management post op, they want to set up an epidural.  Now, this I don’t mind.  I don’t know about my readers, but whatever I can do to reduce pain, I will try.  However, I was to swallow those words.  Unfortunately, it took 3 attempts to get the epidural located.  By the time I was laid down again, I was getting quite sick of needles.

This passed quickly though as the Anaesthetist set the drugs flowing, and then….nothing.  The next thing I vaguely remember is waking up in recovery for a moment, and then for a moment back in my room, where I slept off the operation for the next few hours.  The night was long due to the pain and discomfort, but there is one single overriding thought through all of this.

IT’S DONE, I HAVE A VAGINA!

Gosh, I am so happy now.  The tears, the worry, the pain, it was all worth it.  I have exactly what I want now!

Leave a comment